Togainu no chi VN game

******WARNING THIS IS ABOUT A BL/YAOI GAME******

If you don’t like this kind of stuff turn around do something else. There are scenes of a sexual nature and what not.

You have been warned.

***Following contains spoliers***

A quick debriefing 

You can all imagine how thrilled I was to hear that the Togainu no chi game has finally received an English patch!!

English patch can be found here: http://aarinfantasy.com/forum/f16/t164299-togainu-no-chi-english.html

But yes! I’ve been waiting a while for the patch to be complete, I had actually forgotten about it until I saw a post on tumblr about it and I couldn’t wait to get home and download this game! I’m not sure how I should talk about this game so I’m basically gonna talk about the steps I went through. I didn’t want to look at any walk through of the game but decided to go with the flow I suppose and do whatever I thought would be the most interesting. I didn’t actually know which route I would do or even that I was on a route for a few hours but everything turned out to be surprisingly pleasant in the end.

Okay so this is a Nitro+CHiRAL game which was created for the PC in 2005. I lifted the general plot from Wikipedia (because I can):

After being devastated in the third World War (known as The Third Division), Japan was divided in two. Several years after the end of the war, a crime organization called Vischio has taken control of the destroyed city of Toshima (formerly Tokyo, Japan’s capital city), where they are holding a battle game known as Igra (romanized as Igura in the Tokyopop manga translation).

Igra is a battle game held in Toshima that may result in the murder of participants. To participate, one must meet with Arbitro and tell him their reason for their decision. Upon meeting with Arbitro, participants are given five dog tags, each engraved like a card in a standard deck of playing cards. One tag must hang from the participant’s neck as proof of participation. Participants must then put their lives on the line to collect others’ tags, with the goal being to collect a Royal Flush. If a participant collects a Royal Flush set of tags, they earn the right to challenge “Il Re” in battle. Battles end when one party either dies or lets their back touch the ground. The winner takes the loser’s tags and is free to do as they please to the loser after that, often resulting in the loser’s death.

The game’s main character, a young man named Akira, is falsely accused of a crime. Once arrested, a mysterious woman appears before him, offering him freedom if he agrees to participate in Igra and defeat Igra’s strongest man: the king, or Il Re. The story follows Akira’s life in the harsh, lawless Toshima as he fights both to survive and to unravel the mysteries developing around him.

Okay so a lot happened, one thing to note about this game is that they spend a long time just talking about things. An hour can easily go by with you talking to the same guy about something or another (Maybe I just lost track of time?!). I found this pretty boring at the beginning but as the game went it was interesting to see everyone’s perspectives and the plot unfold before your eyes.

Starting from when we enter Toshima

Firstly I didn’t like Keisuke…at all. He was whiny and annoying. He didn’t really have much of importance to say. I kept him with me cause I assumed it’s what the game wanted me to do and I’m used to getting bad endings with games so I wanted a bit of a change.

Behold the Keisuke!!!

I thought he may make a good meat shield. Because you never know when one of those can come in useful.

We soon come into contact with Rin who is obviously the shota character in this game. Akira and Keisuke both mistake him for a girl tobegin with and who could blame them?

Behold the Rin

Yes the choices forming in front of us are so wonderful right?! Rin think Keisuke should participate in Igura and takes us to Arbrito. Great like we should give Keisuke some responsibility. Eugh! Arbrito sure has bad taste, it’s noted several times and you can’t help but think the game is onto something there. This guy is uber creepy. Keisuke does to talk to Arbrito leaving Akria and Rin alone. I’ll like to take his moment to say there are many times where Akira doesn’t actually say anything but “…”. He talks more later but I thought I’d point it out.

We come across the executioners who enforce the law and clean up the corpses (wonderful!) and their weird `dog`.  It’s like a bondage dog that has no eyes or throat…yeah. Wonderful.

We then go to a shady bar and meet an information broker! He’s name is Motomi, he’s no Izaya but he seems like a pretty okay guy.

In this period of time Keisuke decides he wants to go back to Arbrito and join Igura (Woop?). So we go and make our way back to him.

Arbrito and his artistic creation referred to as a `pet`

We all go to meet with Arbrito again for Keisuke to actually to enroll into this Igura game. He gets tags and everything and we set out for adventure!

Okay okay, I admit it at this point I was kinda bored and Keisuke was still annoying me so I took it upon myself to get rid of him and it’s not long until Akira and Keisuke have an argument. Akira is generally worried about Keisuke’s well being but he doesn’t phrase it in the best of ways and because of this Keisuke runs off. I was given two chances to go get Keisuke or a least show some concern about him but being the bitch I am decided to hang out with the shota (I shall put him in a box!!!). It wasn’t long till Rin ditches me. I wake up and he’s gone, leaving me a note saying I shouldn’t trust people. From this point of the game there are also no more choices to be made. I must have made about 7 choices and my fate has already been sealed.

The route chosen! 

So I really had no idea what to do from here. It’s at this point he starts thinking about Keisuke and we get some nice back story on the two of them that makes me think I should probably make an effort to find him again since well I didn’t want a bad ending. We looks around and find some places where mass murders have been taken out and people have died in ways unrelated to Igura (I’m ignoring Takeru!!!). And we shortly find Keisuke…

What….

OMFG I MADE KEISUKE ANGRY!!! Like really angry. He shows up saying about how much he hates me and he wants to kill me slowly and what not. He shows up three times saying this kind of stuff. We actually find out he’s high on this drug called `line`. It’s been mentioned before it makes people go crazy and they get super strong. So before where Keisuke was annoying and lame he’s now really badass. I’m told he’d referred to as `Kurosuke`by fans.

Between each encounter with Kurosuke you come across Motomi who seems friendly enough and I actually started to like him quite a bit during this part. 

That’s right boys you get comfy together!!

At the third and final time you meet Kurosuke he actually attacks you full out. At one point during the fight some of Akira’s blood drops out and lands in his mouth causing Kurosuke to make animal like noises and runs away. Akira doesn’t run after him but instead collapses on the ground, this is where Motomi finds him unconscious on the floor and decided to take Akira to the church where they normally hang out.

It’s at this point the next morning Akira gets a call from Emma during the conversation Motomi comes up and she says you can’t trust him, she drops hints that Motomi has the same kind of position that Emma does, basically meaning that he’s a part of the military. Motomi and Akira have an argument about both of their intentions about being here, neither of them will move on the subject so Akira walks out. And is soon confronted by this guy.

Yes very confused who are…actually this guy has appeared before during this route but I’m not really sure what he does or what his intentions are. He looks and acts like he’s drugged up and speaks a load of crap. I wasn’t so sure what his guy was up to or what his importance is till a while later. Akira heads to the church

Motomi hasn’t been sitting around for Akira but you go with him as it were to Arbrito’s place again and they have a conversation about all the goings on, we find out here that these two used to work together. Motomi question about the Il re doubting that he even exists which makes the Igura pointless. After this Motomi heads back to the church where he waits for Akira.

Meeting Akira again Motomi explains everything that happened, his job, his wife and son which he has spoken about before among with other things, we also find out about Akira and that he was part of an experiment along with Nicole Premier who is an actual living weapon that the military made and he’s a pretty dangerous bloke. It’s a pretty long conversation, there’s a lot of stuff to cover and this article is getting pretty long it would take ages to explain everything in detail (which is why I encourage everyone to play the game!!!). It then moves to the back room.

Is this going where I hope it’s going?!

Yes…

IS IT COMING?!

GOD DAMN IT AKIRA JUST LET THE NICE MAN TOUCH YOU!!!!!!

YEEEEEEEEES!!! OMFG YES!!

Ah, this is the reason why I started playing this game! I mean come on a sex scene! And it’s a nice one. In a game like this it wouldn’t surprised me if Akira was raped but I some how managed to avoid those routes and got a good ending. I really thought the game wasn’t going to give me a sex scene at all since at this point I’d spent two days playing it and I got nothing apart from an almost rape scene. But man this is more than amusing to watch. Plus Akira and Motomi make a very cute couple.

The climatic part

Afterwards they go around looking for the Premier guy since if they find him first the military won’t be able to get their hands on him and use him for evil things. After a while they feel it’s useless and head back to the church.

They have a short conversation about how Keisuke may be dead and Hotoni says he’ll see from Arbirto if Keisuke has been found dead or not. Hotomi then leaves. Akira gets a call from Emma of which he throws the communication device away, I mean she’s a bitch anyway who needs her?! The church then gets attack by two guys high on `line` but they are defeated by a mysterious person which happens to be…

Yes it’s that guy from before, the basically zombie guy yeah, isn’t he wonderful. Of course because of the conversation before we now know that this guy is a really powerful weapon of mass destruction created by the military called Nicole Premier. Motomi appears and tries to shoot him but Akira stops him and tries to talk to  Nicole. It actually seems to go pretty well but then Emma and Gwen appear.

Emma is the only lady in this game \o/ 

Basically Emma and Gwen have to take Nicole (she calls him Nano) and Akira back to the military. Emma then goes crazy and tries to kill them both which is completely understandable considering  how dangerous these two actually are. Gwen tries to get in the way but Emma shoots him and then Nicole kills Emma! Woo look at all this death!

The ending

Hotomi and Akira run away into the sewer system, leaving Nicole to fend off some military people that arrive on the scene shortly afterwards. They talk about their future and how Hotomi wishes to be a journalist as well as spend the rest of his life with Akira. After discussing this they make their way to Nikkouren. This is where a civil war breaks out (and rightly so) and Akira is cleared of all his charges. It then skips to five years to Hotomi drawing a landscape with Akira by his side. Turns out it’s their five year anniversary of when they escaped from Toshima. It’s a very cute moment and a very good place to end this route.

The adorable couple

Final thoughts

I didn’t really know what to expect from this game but at the end I really enjoyed and loved this route. It was sweet, both the characters were wonderful and the plot was interesting and had some interesting developments. I wasn’t too into this game when I first played it and I was quite bored at times (and no not because of the lack of sex) but I’m really glad I stuck around. I recommend this game to any BL/yaoi fan out there to give this a go and hope that they come out loving this game as much as I have.

Since I enjoyed this route so much I’ll probably go back and finish off some of the others (already have one of Keisuke’s bad endings) and see if I like any of the others as much as I liked this one.

Thank you for reading and congrats if you survived this long ^^

10 thoughts on “Togainu no chi VN game

    • Doing a walk through for Nano would involve me having to play through the entire game. Which I was going to do but somehow all my save files were wiped and I got pissy with my laptop and rage quit Togainu no Chi for DRAMAtical murder and I haven’t gotten back to it and probably won’t for a while since I have so many games to play already. Sorry ^^

    • Thank you! It took me ages!!! Ah that sucks, hope you can play the game soon and be witness to it’s awesome! (and kurosuke) :3

Leave a Reply

